2019 General Election – Candidate Questionnaire: A Voter Resource

As an aid for voters, Interfaith Works developed a questionnaire for candidates for contested Mayoral, City Council and Port of Olympia seats appearing on the November 5, 2019 local General Election ballot. The questions reflect issues of interest to our membership.

Below are responses to the questionnaire from candidates running in the contested races for Mayoral and Council seats in Lacey, Olympia, and Tumwater, and for the Port Commissioner District 1 seat.

Responses are organized by position. Click on a position below to open the document. (in PDF format)

Please note that we sent the questionnaire to the two candidates for Tumwater City Council positions 3 and 7: Joan Cathey, Michael Pavlich, Charlie Schneider, and Neil McClanahan. These candidates did not respond, so there are no documents for those seats.

Other candidates in contested races who did not respond to the questions are noted below.

Olympia – Mayor
Cheryl Selby
Nathaniel Jones

Olympia – City Council #2
Jessica Bateman
Phyllis Booth

Olympia – City Council #3
Dani Madrone
Dr. Matt Goldenberg

Port of Olympia – Commissioner District 1
Joe Downing
Helen Wheatley

Lacey – City Council #1
Malcolm Miller
Sara Jean Morris

Lacey – City Council #2
Lenny Greenstein
Harald Jones

Lacey – City Council #3
Ed Kunkel
Lynda Zeman – Did not respond

Tumwater – City Council #1
Leatta Dahlhoff
Pamela Hanson